Snapchat Doesn’t Delete Your Private Pictures After All

snapchat

Snapchat,  a popular photo-sharing app, is similar to IM or text messaging.  The only difference is that images replace text in the midst of quick messaging.  One of the features most users enjoy is the fact that photos disappear shortly after picture  messages are sent and supposedly never be resurfaced by the sender.  The recipient view time is also restricted to a few seconds before the image self deletes.

Enter digital forensics examiner named Richard Hickman, who has found a way to view the supposed deleted images on an Android device.  The exploit, similar to the one uncovered by Buzzfeed back in December, only hides the images and does not actually delete them.  Snapchat stores each image in the “RECEIVED_IMAGES_SNAPS” folder.  When the image’s time to live has expired, a “.NOMEDIA” extension is added to each photo file.  This makes the photo difficult but not impossible to find.

Hickman states “The actual app is even saving the picture. They claim that it’s deleted, and it’s not even deleted. It’s actually saved on the phone.”

It has been noted that it takes up to six hours to resurface the photos on Androids devices and it also depends on how much data is stored on the device.   Snapchat has responded to the exploit first reported by the Business Insider:

“There are many ways to save snaps that you receive – the easiest way is to take  a screenshot or take a photo with another camera. Snaps are deleted from our  servers after they have been viewed by the recipient.”

In line with Hickman’s findings, Snapchat only makes note that the photos are deleted from Snapchat’s servers and not from the devices itself.

Source: Decipher Forensics

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Snapchat Doesn’t Delete Your Private Pictures After All

  1. Everytime I’ve checked it, its been empty. The file is only present in that directory after it has been loaded, but before it has been viewed.

  2. This is NOT TRUE. The app deletes the nomedia files as soon as the time is up. HOWEVER they can be viewed once the phone has downloaded them. (I.e. between “Touch to load” and “Hold to view”)

  3. The source provided claims otherwise and the research is detailed. It is also questionable that Snapchat will only lay claim to the images being delete on the server and not the device itself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s